On Casting a Circle/Sacred Space

This is the Nachtnight’s Lovely Corner’s first post ever! I decided to go on a witchcraft topic since I think that for any new witches out there, this is a good thing to know!

I will briefly and casually give you some info about casting a circle for protection when doing spellwork. If you wish to know, then go on and read down below.

What and Why?

When casting a circle, you create a sacred space where you do spellwork and rituals (A sacred space is a space that you then make it spiritual(or magickal) “I make this bedroom a sacred space!”, for example. A circle is a sacred space, but smaller, you create it and take it down later after you finished your ritual or spell work). Keeps the negative energy out, and keeps the positive energy inside so there are no outside influences that will affect your spell.

And to the question that many new witches ask, “Do you always have to cast a circle?”

The answer depends, in Modern Paganism, some people always cast a circle, some don’t even bother to do it at all. It all depends on the traditions or what you choose to do. But in my opinion, casting a circle is very important if you are new and lack experience. When I do a quick spell on the fly, I guess a circle is not necessary…wearing a protection charm will do, but when I do a big ritual or a spell that took a lot of time and energy I always cast one just in case, don’t want anything to mess with the effort I put into the spell you know?
Note Circle can be cast alone or in a group.


Methods of Casting a Circle

The basic method that I read and practice when I first started out was walk in a circle, face the north, east, west, south, invoking Gods or Goddesses, LONG chanting…that kind of stuff.

I personally don’t like to do things complicately since I have very short memory and I tends to get nervous. Which is something you don’t wanna do when sometimes your spell requires calmness and positivity.

So here I will share the methods that I now use or find interesting enough to include into the list.

  • Visualization

-The circle

Note when you visualize a circle, you actually visualize a sphear…or a squished sphear so it will be safer when you walk to the edge of the “circle”.

circle

Some may visualize a barrier going up and cover the area like a dome, some just make it appear from thin air, some may use hand gestures to help them visualize (silly, I know…but hey, it works). There are so many methods you can come up with!

how big should the circle be? well, that depends, do you have to dance around or make a lot of movements? Then make it as big as you need it to be. if you just sit or stand in one place then maybe just about an arm’s reach. Estimate it, follow your guts.

Also CLEANSE YOUR SPACE FIRST BEFORE ANYTHING, YOU DON’T WANT THE NEGATIVE ENERGY TO BE INSIDE YOUR SPACE! (I will make a post about cleansing later but if you are curious I suggest you go search it up yourself! )

-The material

You can visualize your circle to be made of anything. Some prefer to visualize a wall of fire surrounding them because they feel safe and they are more connected to the fire element. I like to visualize a barrier made of yellow-orange energy, sometimes if I feel like it I will add details to make it seems stronger and more durable. It’s all about what makes you feel the safest.

-The programming

While you visualize your circle, you wanna have a firm intent that inside this circle is a sacred space, no negative energy or any malevolent spirit can enter this space. Only you and positive energy are allowed…something like that. Try to come up with your own words or use what you feel right, the more personal the better because you don’t have to remember it from someone else. And you know what you want. But yeah, the main idea is to prevent the negative energy out. and keep the positive energy inside. You may say your intent out loud or in your head, it works either way. Sometimes words aren’t even needed (some witches cast a circle only with their intent, cool, right?)
Witchy Tip: Promote positive energy with your favorite song, lighting an incense, or ringing a bell! (the bell’s vibration will attract positivity) Playing music to boost the mood is very helpful.

  • Physical marking

If you struggle with visualizing, you can mark where your circle is and how big it should be before you visualize it! For example:

  1. Arrange rocks and pebbles into a circle or only five spots to make a pentagram. Then visualize a circle, or don’t, you can make the rocks become the protection circle themselves.
  2. Sprinkle salt or crushed eggshells in a circle shape. (NEVER use salt on the ground outdoor, it will damage the soil and plants won’t be able to grow there)
  3. mark a circle with chalk
  4. draw a circle on the sand
  5. place candles in four directions: north(earth), east(air), west(water) and south(fire) so you know how much space you want and can draw energy from the four elements to cast a circle

It all depends on where you are and what is the most convenience at the moment!

some practitioners only use the physical circle to protect themselves believing that the blessed salt already has the property of protection. Again, you believe what you want to believe! sadly if you are still in the closet about being a witch then you probably have to rely heavily on visualization.

  • Gestures

Sometimes I use body movements to help me visualize in my spell work whether it’s hand gestures, posing like a Sailormoon, or doing things that might look silly to other’s eyes. But it keeps me from feeling stress and make the whole process more fun so…ha!

-draw invisible circle with my foot

I imagine energy flowing from my body into the tip of my toes, then I spin around while using said toes to draw a circle and then a pentagram inside with the intent of protection, simple as that.

-snapping fingers

I draw a circle on the ground with my finger and then snap my fingers, as I do it I visualize a sphere forming around me using the circle as a center.

Boom.

Instant sacred space.

-using wand

Use your wand to draw a circle, visualizing energy flowing from you to the tip of your wand. Just like the foot method. And then move your wand upward, visualizing a barrier rising up from and ground and connect, forming a half sphere. Then do the same with a downward wand movement. And now you have a circle to do spell work in.

Witchy tip: A “Circle” doesn’t have to be a circle, it can be anything you want, rectangle, triangle, whatever works for you.

  • Sigil Marking

Okay, this doesn’t really count as a circle, more like making my room into a sacred space.

1. Draw sigils on every corner of your room. you can use anything but I suggest pencil or colored chalk, in case you want to redraw the sigil.

My Sigil(feel free to use it!): Only positive energy can enter this space

20180228_003245.jpg

2. Charge them with energy. I use solar and moon energy to keep charging as long as I want. here is how

20180228_003340.jpg

draw a circle surround the sigil, then draw triangles, just half of the circle to symbolize both sun and moon at the same time.

3.Now it’s time to visualize. Visualize barriers that are connected to the sigils. Going from walls to walls, cover the floor and ceiling.

4. This part is optional but I like to snap my fingers after visualizing to finish the work. It’s like saying “It is done” or “As I will it, so mote it be” but without words. You can just say it out loud and your work is done.

Sooo…that’s about it, folks!

If you like it please let me know, and you can talk to me through my Tumblr @justsomemagickalstuff or comment below.

Witch out,

tumblr_inline_n00mc8K7Y51rg0g8s

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑